Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with Clifton Rugby Club


Clifton Rugby AGM 2018 - Report

3 months ago By Wyn Tingley

Tonight's Annual General Meeting concluded with the re-election of Club Officials and announcements of new Vice-Presidents!

A vibrant Club AGM concluded tonight with a positive report on the Club's health for the past season both on and off the pitch.

Rugby success was recognised by Pete Mitchell (Club Secretary) from the hugely talented youth teams through to the 1st XV and all colts and other senior teams too.

Rugby is in great health at Clifton and going from strength to strength.

Les Robinson (Club Treasurer) reported the continuing improvement in Club finances and the secure future we have (with the continued vigilance on spend and the focus on income he has instilled). Members' fees do not need to rise this coming season and the Committee will look at ways to enhance the value of subscriptions to all Members.

John Raine (President) reflected on those Members sadly no longer with us in the last twelve months.

He then went on to recognise the contribution Darren Lloyd, Director of Rugby, has made over the last decade - a Club stalwart and genuine clubman, we are pleased that Darren will continue contributing to the Club in a commercial role.

The work from Paul Beet (Academy Manager), Aftab Hamid (2nd XV Coach), Justin Morris and Russell Delaney (Minis and Junior Chairs) was highlighted as being pivotal to the rugby success seen in 2017/18. Thank you to all of you.

Occasionally, the Club's Vice Presidents agree to award the life-long title of Vice President to those Members who have made a significant contribution to the Club itself. This past year has seen some truly remarkable work and achievement from two particular Members and President John Raine was able to announce that Les Robinson and Richard Brenchley were being named as Vice Presidents of Clifton Rugby. Well done both.

An important part of the evening meeting is to nominate and elect the Club's four senior officials and the Club's Executive Committee for 2018/19 will be headed by:

Wyn Tingley, Chairman
Pete Mitchell, Secretary
Les Robinson, Treasurer
Sam Harrison, Club Captain

Well done all and we wish you the best of luck in the coming year.

Members, Supporters, Players, Sponsors and Friends of the Club are thanked for their involvement in the last season and we look forward to seeing you all in a few months for the 2018/19 campaigns.

#CmonClifton #LavenderAndBlack #SInce1872

#OneClub #BeThere

Updated 19:23 - 8 Jun 2018 by Roger Bealing

Where next?

200 Club - May 2018 winner The draw has been made.....
May Bank Holiday Rugby There’s lots of rugby to see at Clifton today!

Fri 24 Aug
1st XV Hartpury BUCS
Friendly 19:45
Sat 1 Sep
League 15:00

News sponsors


Club sponsors