Fri 30
1st XV
Cardiff Met 1st XV

Match preview

By Mike Barber
Share via

Salter's side looking for performance against tough BUCS opposition

Clifton have named a strong side to take on BUCS Super League giants Cardiff Met at Station Road tonight, 19:45 Kick Off.

Ricky Cano and Mark Roberts start either side of former Hartpury Hooker, Luke Stratford in the Front Row, whilst Joe Quinn makes his debut following re-signing for Clifton in the Second Row with Henry Harper. The Back Row sees Mike Uren shift across to 8 to face his former university team with Dan Broady and Tom Wilson on the flanks.

Army scrum half Morgan Evans will start at 9 before he heads off to Japan for the Services World Cup alongside Army Fly Half James Dixon, making his first start at 10. Brad Barnes partners Captain Chris Levesley in the Centre whilst Fin Sharp and Bentley Halpin start on the Wings with Cameron McDonald at Full Back.

The bench is loaded with Jack Williams, Beno Edwards, Matthew Hall, Zinny Norman and Niall Gibbons making the forward replacements whilst Mitch Spencer, Kieran Griffiths, Alex Lambert, Connor Hull, Sam Harrison and Tom Jones covering the backs.

"We have had a really tough pre-season programme and going up against Cardiff met will be another big challenge. They went well against Taunton last week and caused them problems so we know what we have to do tonight. Danny Milton has a very strong squad and boys like Mike Uren, Chris Levesley and myself who played there, know what they will bring as well as Strats, Harps & Tom Wilson who have played against them. But we have looked very good lately, we've got great depth and quality within our squad and we are excited to see what this group can do tonight."
Mike Barber, Assistant Coach

Clifton v Cardiff Metropolitan University | Friday 30th August | Kick Off 19:45 | Station Road

1. Ricky Cano 2. Luke Stratford 3. Mark Roberts 4. Joe Quinn 5. Henry Harper 6. Tom Wilson 7. Dan Broady 8. Mike Uren 9. Morgan Evans 10. James Dixon 11. Fin Sharp 12. Brad Barnes 13. Chris Levesley 14. Bentley Halpin 15. Cameron McDonald

Bench: 16. Jack Williams 17. Beno Edwards 18. Matthew Hall 19. Zinny Norman 20. Niall Gibbons 21. Mitch Spencer 22. Kieran Griffiths 23. Alex Lambert 24. Connor Hull 25. Sam Harrison 26. Tom Jones

Share via

Match details

Match date

Fri 30, Aug 2019



Meet time



18:10 - Meeting/Walk Through
18:40 - Units/Spotters
18:50 - Changing Room
18:51 - Ref Chat
18:55 - Warm Up
19:25 - Changing Room/Last Prep